The NNSWCD Board is comprised of locally elected and appointed directors to oversee a staff responsible for accomplishing these goals in cooperation with local, state, and federal partners. The NNSWCD has ten (10) Directors and several Associate Directors. Eight (8) Directors are elected, two (2) from each of the Northern Neck counties; two (2) Directors are appointed by the Board, one of which must be a local extension agent. The term of office for Directors is four years and they receive no payment for their services.

The NNSWCD Board meets monthly to conduct and oversee District business. These meetings are public, and the Board encourages attendance by sending meeting notices to local newspapers. Click here to see the 2024 schedule

Elected Directors:

  • Robert E. Pickett, Chairman (Northumberland)
  • Frank A. “Bert” Johnson, Jr., Vice-Chairman (Richmond)
  • J. Vince Garland, Treasurer (Richmond)
  • Benson C. Braxton (Westmoreland)
  • James A. “Aaron” Rowland (Lancaster)
  • Robert G. “Bobby” Vanlandingham (Northumberland)
  • Lewis K. Walker III (Lancaster)
  • Richard E. Wilkins (Westmoreland)

Appointed Directors:

  • R. Trent Jones, Virginia Cooperative Extension Agent (Lancaster/Northumberland)
  • Louis Gregory Basye, At-Large Member (Northumberland)

Associate Directors:

  • William D. “Danny” Allensworth
  • Junius C. “J.C.” Berger
  • E. Derwin Booker, Jr.
  • Richard F. Haynie
  • H. Shirley Powell
  • Kenneth E. Savko

At the 2023 Annual Holiday Dinner, we said goodbye to three amazing directors as they are stepping away from the Board – Shirley Powell (Westmoreland), Faye Andrashko (Lancaster), and Billy McCarty (Lancaster) and welcomed three new and excited directors to the NNSWCD Board – Benson Braxton (Westmoreland), Lewis Walker III (Lancaster), and J. Aaron Rowland (Lancaster).